In 2014 the Grand Rapids Pickleball Club initiated The Draigh Award to recognize players who best meets the criteria selected by Barbara and Richard (Dick) Draigh, the founding members of Grand Rapids Pickleball.


This award recognizes those individuals who:

  1. Openly promotes the game
  2. Represent the game in the most positive manner
  3. Exercise sportsmanship at all times
  4. Is willing to play with lesser skilled partners
  5. Welcomes new players and helps to make them feel a part of the group
  6. Steps forwards to help and volunteer to committees and special projects

Dave Boyd and Neil Johnson: Our Draigh award winners for 2017.  Both of these put in countless hours behind the scenes to help our club operate as a growing and smooth running group.  Dave is club treasurer, a job that has grown exponentially in the past three years.  He is usually the first person to clean and take care of things needing to be done at Belknap.  Neil has been our webmaster for the past 3 years and has helped make it a great resource for all of us.  He also was “Commander” of referees for the SGA; a daunting task of keeping 26 refs on courts 10 hrs a day for four days.  Both are very deserving.

Past winners are:

September 13, 2014
Jeanne Schowalter and John Schowalter

September 26, 2015
Keith Wolverton and Kathy Anderson

September 20, 2016
Linda Jirous and Mike Bart